The North Carolina legislature is working on passing a law that would tighten up laws regarding mopeds in North Carolina. The current law in North Carolina does not require the operator to have a valid driver’s license. The way the law stands currently anyone who is 16 or older may operate a moped on a public street or highway. A moped is defined as one having an engine no larger than 50 cc and a maximum speed of 30 mph.
The new law would require that moped operators have a valid driver’s license as well as having the vehicle registered and insured. The law would also set the minimum age to operate a moped at 17 years old and it would be illegal to have a passenger. If this law passes it will have a direct effect on those who have a suspended or revoked license due to DWI, as these people commonly use mopeds as a means of transportation since no valid license is required to operate it. Someone who operates a moped under the influence would still be able to be charged with DWI.
If you should find yourself in a situation where you have been charged with a DWI you need to contact an attorney who has the experience and knowledge necessary to handle your case with the care it deserves. We defend DWIs and DUIs in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, Pineville, Cornelius, Huntersville, Lake Norman, Pineville, Matthews, Mint Hill, and UNCC. For a private, confidential consultation with one of our experienced DWI lawyers, please call 704-499-9000 or toll-free 877-374-5999 even on weekends or holidays. Visit our main page here.